Biggles Books

The Biggles Book series is based on the real Biggles, a little Jack Russell who spent his life working on farms in the Author’s husband’s contracting business. Vanessa was so captivated by all the adventures he had that she decided to write a book in his honour.

What eventuated was a three-book series incorporating tales of altruism and work ethic, resilience, individual strengths, gratitude and friendship. The aim of the series is to delight young readers while instilling powerful life skills to enable them to flourish into their adult lives. Appropriate for ages 0-6 years.

Book 1: Biggles Goes to Work.
Working the farm can be hot, dusty and tiring work, but Biggles enjoys contributing and helping farmer Joe, unlike Cat, who prefers to be lazy and becomes bored and cranky in her idleness. At the end of the day, Biggles finds his effort is greatly appreciated. He reflects on how good it feel to help others, and snuggles up to the fire when work is done. Book themes:

Book 2: Biggles Finds His Superpowers.
On a lovely summer’s day, Biggles is out visiting his farm friends, Lochie the Clydesdale, Sheri the sheep, and Tiddles the cat. He sees that each of them has a special quality that he admires. In comparison, he feels like there is nothing special about him. With the help of his friends, Biggles learns that he does indeed have special strengths. He is kind, and courageous, and most of all, his greatest superpower is being a good friend. Biggles finally sees himself in a different light, and feels proud of his uniqueness.

Book 3: Biggles the Persistent Pup.
Biggles is a good dog, who tries hard to help out farmer Joe on the farm. Sometime though, mastering new skills can be really hard. Biggles struggles with some of the farm tasks, only to find that less than helpful onlookers, in the form of some teasing bunnies, a critical fox and sniggering mice, laugh at him from the sidelines. Thankfully, Biggles learns to believe in himself, and has the courage to try again. He manages to succeed with his tasks, and feels proud and confident in himself.

Biggles Books


  • Facebook
  • Instagram